My Creds – Where I’ve Been, Where I’m Going, and Why You Care

Hello all!

I’ll start by answering some very simple questions you probably didn’t even know you had.

Who am I? I’m Helen, I’m a 19-year-old American college student (Communications major) with a passion for writing and traveling.

Where I’ve been? Throughout my childhood my family took trips all over the United States, so I’ve seen the Grand Canyon, New Orleans, Florida, California, Seattle and the Washington coast, Maine, Niagara Falls, and various East Coast beaches including the Outer Banks, Rehoboth, Wildwood, and both Ocean City’s. I took bigger trips in high school with my parents to see France (Paris, Brittany, and Normandy) and Great Britain (various locations in England, Scotland, and Wales). More recently I studied abroad (for my first college semester!) in London and visited Brighton, Liverpool, Edinburgh, Spain (Catalonia), Italy, and Switzerland.

What does this mean? You could say that the fire of travel has been lit beneath my feet. Now that I’ve been pushed back into the United States and an institutional university setting, the fire has only grown. I spend most of my free time planning what trips I’m going to take next and thinking back on my adventures from last semester and before.

Where I’m going? Good question! In just three weeks I’ll be embarking on a class trip to South Korea. In May I plan on taking a three-week trip which is still in the baby steps of planning but will probably involve Europe. Or maybe Hawaii. In June my family is getting a house for a week at the Outer Banks, and come August I will hopefully find myself in Maine to visit my roommate. She promises that there will be berry picking, kayaking, hiking, and other outdoorsy Maine activities. I want to go abroad again for another semester and am looking at Australia and Italy. After all that…who knows?

Why you care? I’ll be blogging about all of this and posting pictures and maybe even videos! So if you happen to care… Come follow along!

Leave a Reply

